ORGANIZED BY

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

WITH THE PARTICIPATION OF

-30Days -3Hours -12Minutes -37Seconds

International workshop Water and Climate

September 20-22, 2017 Paris (FRANCE)

-30Days -3Hours -12Minutes -37Seconds

International workshop Water and Climate

September 20-22, 2017 Paris (FRANCE)

ORGANIZED BY

IN PARTNERSHIP WITH

WITH THE PARTICIPATION OF

In the run-up to COP23 and World Water Forum,

Seine-Normandy water agency organizes its international workshop with the French Development Agency (AFD) on ‘Ecological engineering and climate risks’. Experience feedbacks and expertise enrich the debate on bidiversity in climate challenge. Taking action for diversified and resilient ecosystems reducing water-related natural risks (droughts, floods, erosion …) or related to the rise of the sea level is a key challenge for people and environments to adapt to climate change.

ROUND TABLES

PROJECTS

WORKING GROUPS

FIELD VISITS

EDITORIAL

The observation: territories subject to climate risks and ecosystems threatened

In the context of increasing risks due to climate change, scarcity of water resources and the great fragility of ecosystems, the observation and restoration of natural environments can enable societies to adapt more effectively.

Climate change will deeply affect hydrological cycles and water resources and disrupt ecosystems. By 2030, global water requirements are expected to be 40% higher than available reserves[1] and about 25% of species may disappear by 2050 due to climate change[2].

Protection against natural hazards has historically relied on the construction of civil engineering works that have an impact on ecosystems, whereas about 40% of the world economy depends on their proper functioning[3] and may even increase the risks (dams for downstream flooding, for example, or dikes sized to protect against a current event but which become dangerous when an exceptional raising of event occurs). In addition, these solutions sometimes offer insufficient protection and flexibility, especially in view of the raising of sea level[4] or the increasing extreme events frequency. They also require regular additional investments for maintenance and / or resizing.

[1] Water for a sustainable world’ The United Nations World Water Development Report (WWDR) (2015).
[2] Thomas et al., Extinction risk from climate change, 2004, Nature.
[3] Programme des Nations Unies pour l’Environnement.
[4] From 30 cm to 1m (or 2m for some experts) in the world, n°367 avril 2017, Alternatives économiques, pp.54-56.

An integrated approach with nature-based solutions

Nature-based solutions are attracting an increasing interest in building a more harmonious future between man and nature in the context of climate change. These solutions e.g. ecological engineering, green infrastructure, or measures that promote the natural retention of water … are also multifunctional. Indeed, they can simultaneously increase the resilience of the territories to climate risks (droughts, floods, erosions, marine submersion …), play a role in biodiversity and meet other societal challenges such as protecting drinking water resources, food sovereignty, and health.

Often unrecognized and underestimated, these solutions are part of a global approach of the management of these risks and thus improve the adaptability of our societies to climate change.

This workshop, which, without considering a single solution, highlights combined projects responding to the needs and constraints of different territories, capitalizes on feedback to discuss and demonstrate the effectiveness of nature-based solutions implemented in response to the climate challenge. This event aims to mobilize public and private actors and to help them to have a better understanding of these alternative and complementary conventional solutions.

ORGANISÉ PAR

EN PARTENARIAT AVEC

AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE

-88Jours -21Heures -48Minutes -21Secondes

Atelier international Eau et Climat

du 20 au 22 septembre 2017 Paris (FRANCE)

-88Jours -19Heures -48Minutes -21Secondes

Atelier international Eau et Climat

du 20 au 22 septembre 2017 Paris (FRANCE)

ORGANISÉ PAR

EN PARTENARIAT AVEC

AVEC LA PARTICIPATION DE

En perspective de la COP23 et du forum mondial de l’Eau,

l’agence de l’eau Seine-Normandie organise son atelier international avec l’Agence Française de Développement sur le thème « Génie écologique et risques climatiques ». Les témoignages et expertises présentées nourrissent la réflexion sur la place de la biodiversité dans l’action climatique. Des écosystèmes diversifiés et résilients sont une réponse aux risques naturels liés à l’eau (sécheresse, inondation, submersion marine …). Le développement de ces solutions fondées sur la nature est un défi majeur pour l’adaptation des populations et des milieux naturels aux changements climatiques.

TABLES RONDES

PROJETS

GROUPES DE TRAVAIL

VISITES DE TERRAIN

ÉDITO

Le constat : territoires soumis à des risques climatiques et écosystèmes menacés

Dans un contexte d’accroissement des risques liés au changement climatique, de raréfaction de la ressource en eau et de grande fragilité des écosystèmes, l’observation et la restauration des milieux naturels peuvent permettre aux sociétés de mieux s’adapter.

Les changements climatiques vont profondément affecter le cycle hydrologique, les ressources en eau et bouleverser les écosystèmes. Dès 2030, les besoins mondiaux en eau devraient être de 40 % supérieurs aux réserves disponibles[1] et environ 25 % des espèces pourraient disparaître d’ici 2050 à cause des changements climatiques[2].

La protection contre les risques naturels s’est historiquement appuyée sur la construction d’aménagements de génie civil qui engendrent des impacts sur les écosystèmes alors qu’environ 40 % de l’économie mondiale dépend de leur bon fonctionnement[3], voire peuvent aggraver les risques (cas des digues vis-à-vis des inondations en aval, par exemple, ou des digues dimensionnées pour protéger contre un évènement courant mais qui deviennent dangereuses quand survient un évènement plus rare et plus intense). De plus, ces solutions offrent parfois une protection et une flexibilité insuffisantes face notamment à l’élévation du niveau marin[4] ou à la fréquence accrue d’épisodes extrêmes. Elles nécessitent en outre des investissements supplémentaires réguliers pour leur entretien et/ou leur redimensionnement.

[1] « L’eau pour un monde durable » Rapport mondial des Nations Unies sur la mise en valeur des ressources en eau (2015).
[2] Thomas et al., Extinction risk from climate change, 2004, Nature.
[3] Programme des Nations Unies pour l’Environnement.
[4] De 30 cm à 1 m (voire 2 m d’après certains experts) au niveau mondial, n°367 avril 2017, Alternatives économiques, pp.54-56.

Une approche intégrée avec les solutions fondées sur la nature

Les solutions fondées sur la nature suscitent un intérêt grandissant pour sécuriser l’avenir de nos sociétés dans le contexte du changement climatique. Ces solutions, qui recouvrent l’ingénierie écologique, les infrastructures vertes, ou encore des mesures favorisant la rétention naturelle d’eau … sont en outre multifonctionnelles. En effet, elles peuvent simultanément accroître la résilience des territoires face aux risques climatiques (sécheresses, inondations, érosions, submersion marine…), jouer en faveur de la biodiversité et répondre à d’autres défis sociétaux tels que la protection des ressources en eau potable, la souveraineté alimentaire, la santé.

Souvent méconnues et sous estimées, ces solutions s’inscrivent dans une approche globale de la gestion de ces risques et améliorent ainsi les capacités d’adaptation de nos sociétés face aux changements climatiques.

Cet atelier, qui sans considérer de solution unique met en lumière des projets combinés répondant aux besoins et contraintes de différents territoires, capitalise des retours d’expériences pour discuter et démontrer l’efficacité de solutions fondées sur la nature mises en place en réponse au défi climatique. Cet événement a pour objectif de mobiliser les acteurs publics et privés et de les amener à mieux appréhender ces solutions alternatives ou complémentaires des solutions conventionnelles.